In North Carolina, it is unlawful for a person under the age of 21 to drive with any alcohol in their system. This is known as “Zero Tolerance.” You do not have to have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher to be charged. In fact, you do not have to be impaired at all to be found guilty of underage drinking and driving.
Learn more about Underage Drinking, Zero Tolerance and DWI laws in North Carolina.
With nearly 40 years experience, The Robinson Law Firm has gained immeasurable knowledge and understanding of North Carolina laws as they relate to “zero tolerance” charges, and we know what effective strategies are available in order to defend your case. Our “zero tolerance” defense team is very aggressive in your defense, and along with our extensive knowledge of the law, we’ll work to ensure you receive the best outcome possible.
WHY YOU NEED A LAWYER
If you are under 21 and are found to be legally impaired, you could be charged with the offense of DWI as well as “zero tolerance.” The Implied Consent Law still applies to you even if you are under 21 years of age. This means that if you refuse to take a breath or blood test, it will be used against you in court and your driver’s license will immediately be suspended.
In certain circumstances, a person that has been convicted of “zero tolerance” may be granted limited driving privileges. This is not the case, however, if you were found guilty of being impaired. The Robinson Law Firm, P.A. will be able to explain the penalties you may be facing for both crimes and what can be done to overcome the obstacles in front of you. The punishment for DWI is much harsher than “zero tolerance” and may be avoided by a skilled lawyer.
If you have been charged with underage DWI, contact an Underage DWI defense attorney to fight for a positive outcome in your case.