Generally, a driving while impaired (DWI) charge in North Carolina is a misdemeanor. Although the penalties are harsh, they are not as serious as the penalties for felony DWI. You can be charged with a felony serious injury by a vehicle if you are driving while impaired and seriously injure another person. Such charge is a Class F felony with a maximum sentence of 59 months in prison. You can be charged with aggravated serious injury by a vehicle if you are driving while impaired, seriously injure another person, and have a prior DWI conviction within seven years. This charge is a Class E felony with a maximum sentence of 88 months in prison.
Another felony charge is Habitual DWI. This occurs when you have been convicted of DWI three or more times within a 10 year period of your current date of offense. If convicted of felony Habitual DWI, you will face a minimum of 12 months incarceration and your driver’s license will be revoked permanently.
At the Robinson Law Firm, P.A., our felony DWI defense team knows that if you or a loved one has been charged with felony DWI, your best course of action is to retain the services of a DWI attorney who will work tirelessly for your defense.
SECURE AN EFFECTIVE DEFENSE
North Carolina is known to have extremely strict DWI laws and the consequences can adversely affect your future. We know that everyone is innocent until proven guilty and you have a right to a skilled defense. The Robinson Law Firm will investigate every aspect of your case in order to create a defense strategy with the intent of having your charges reduced or dismissed.
With nearly 40 years experience, The Robinson Law Firm DWI defense team has successfully defended many felony DWI cases. We are aggressive in our fight to prevent clients from being convicted of felony DWI charges.
Contact a felony DWI lawyer to fight for dismissal of your felony DWI charges.