How Do I Get A Carry Concealed Gun Permit?September 12, 2019 – Published by Robinson Law Firm
You have carefully decided it is appropriate and necessary to carry a weapon to protect you and your family while in the public. Carrying the weapon in a manner that is visible to the public is called “open carry” and is allowed by the Second Amendment to the United States Constitution and Article I, § 30 of the North Carolina Constitution. “Open carry” eliminates the tactical advantage of concealment; can increase anti-gun sentiments; cause undue alarm; and put a potential attacker on advance notice that you are armed. For these reasons, it is suggested that you carry the weapon concealed and obtain a permit to do so beforehand.
In North Carolina it is illegal, except on your own premises, to intentionally carry concealed about your person any weapon. The first violation is a Class 2 misdemeanor, punishable by up to 60 days in jail while a second violation is a Class H felony, punishable by up to 39 months in jail. There are several exceptions to this law. One exception is if you have a concealed weapon permit issued by your county Sheriff. G.S. § 14-269(a1)(2).
Obtaining a carry concealed permit is not complicated and is advisable if you desire to carry your weapon with you while off your premises. In sum, the process involves filing an application with your local Sheriff; meeting the qualifications specified by the statute; establishing that you are not disqualified; successfully completing an approved firearms safety and training course; and paying a nonrefundable permit fee. The specifics can be found in North Carolina G.S. § 14-415.12 “Criteria to qualify for the issuance of a permit” and G.S. § 14-415.13 “Application for a permit; fingerprints”.
Application Form. The application form typically requests identifying information, date of birth, military status, demographic information and residency. The application should not require employment information, character affidavits or background checks unless specifically permitted by law. You local Sheriff will have the application available online.
Qualifications. To qualify for the issuance of a permit you must: be a citizen of the U.S. or admitted for permanent residency for at least 30 days as defined in 8 U.S. C. § 1101(A)(20); be 21 years of age or older; not suffer from a physical or mental infirmity that prevents the safe handling of a handgun; and have successfully completed an approved firearms safety and training course that involves the actual firing of a firearm
Disqualifications. The Sheriff shall deny a permit to an applicant who: is disqualified under state or federal law; is charged with a felony; is a convicted felon unless the firearm rights have been restored; is a fugitive from justice; is an unlawful user or addicted to controlled substances; is currently or previously adjudicated as lacking mental capacity or mentally ill; has received an other than honorable discharge from the military; has been convicted or received a prayer for judgment for certain crimes of violence; has been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence; is free on bond or bail conditions for a crime that would disqualify; or have been convicted of impaired driving within three years of the date of application. An individual shall not be disqualified because an adjudication of mental incapacity or mental illness, or involuntary commitment to a mental health service provider if the individual rights have been restored under G.S. 14-409.42.
Firearms Safety and Training Course. You must successfully complete an approved firearms safety and training course that includes the actual firing of handgun. The course must be 8 hours total and include instruction in the laws of this State for carrying a concealed handgun and the use of deadly force. A class for this type of training is typically completed in one day and is approximately $100 in costs. Most courses require that you bring your own firearm and approximately 50-100 rounds of ammunition for live fire training. You will be required to demonstrate firearm proficiency by firing 10 rounds each at 3, 5 and 7 yards at a silhouette paper target. You will receive a certificate upon successful completion.
If you have any questions about obtaining a concealed weapons permit, have been denied a permit, have been charged with illegally carrying a concealed weapon, or have been charged with any other firearm crime, please contact The Robinson Law Firm in Greenville, NC today to receive a free consultation about your rights and responsibilities. We have been providing advice and criminal defense of firearm charges for over 32 years.
Categories: Blog, Firearm Law